TV inspired Christmas Craft

Started the morning with some reading and spelling tests. I used year 8 spellings for Skye and she got them all right – again!!

Last night I watched Kirsties Homemade Christmas which was fab, the girls watched it this morning and it inspired them to copy some of her ideas.

We made some salt dough letters

Image0250

Image0252

which the girls painted…

Image0256

Image0257

Image0258

Image0259

Image0269

In between making the shapes and painting them, they made themselves a picnic style lunch whilst I made quiche for tea…

Image0255

They also wanted to make a Christmas wreath so we ventured out into the garden and took some cuttings of evergreens and berries.

Image0265

On the way to Poppy’s riding lesson we called into a florist to get ourselves some moss. They were so helpful! I told them what I wanted to do and even though they were very busy, they gave us a little demonstration and said if we had any problems we could go back! We came away with a pre-mossed ring and some wires. We also had to drive passed a little craft shop so we called in there to see if they had gold spray and some ribbon to string up our salt dough letters. Couldn’t help with gold spray so got gold paint instead and also supplied us with some lovely red ribbon. The lady was incredibly helpful and informed me that she runs craft workshops and would be more than happy to accommodate a group of up to 6 children and demonstrate something crafty. Took a leaflet and will definitely bear it in mind. There must be something in the air today – everyone is being extra friendly and helpful!!!

Poppy had her riding lesson on Pickles and did very well. Rising trot was lovely and she did really well on her canter 🙂

Image0268

On the way home we called into my Aunties house to borrow a pudding bowl so we could steam the Christmas Pudding that Poppy made on Monday. Arrived home, put Christmas pud on to steam for the next 2-3 hours and cooked quiche. All sat down to dinner. My dad arrived to fit sink into the bathroom, Wayne came home as a neighbour called round to collect a parcel so I cleared away dinner stuff and then we started on the wreath.

Image0273

Image0277

It’s quite unbelievable how much foliage goes into making a wreath!! I had to go outside, in the dark, and fetch more….TWICE!! The girls helped to do the first row, by which time it was getting rather late so I sent them off to bed whilst I finished it off. It took about 2 hours but well worth it! I am very proud of our efforts!

Image0285

All it needs is some ribbon and we can hang it on our door for all to see! 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jackie
    Dec 10, 2009 @ 17:54:04

    Your wreath looks beautiful! I made one with my girls last year, and spent ages making the base from wire. I think this year we’ll definitely be using a mossed ring, as yours looks much fuller. I feel inspired to make a start. Shame it’s dark!

    Reply

  2. lecielrouge
    Dec 10, 2009 @ 22:11:01

    Thank you 🙂 Our intention was to make our own base and just buy some moss but when we got to the florist they showed me their mossed ring. I got the ring and a handful of wires for £3 which I thought was a bargain!

    Reply

  3. Merry
    Dec 15, 2009 @ 23:19:09

    Crafty workshops sound good!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

