Lazy days with some home ed thrown in

We spent most of today curled up on the sofa watching TV – both girls were unwell, Poppy was up most of last night throwing up and so today was very much a duvet day.

I had recorded Ben Fogles Escape In Time – a series in which families are challenged to become Victorian farmers on the Acton Scott Estate in Shropshire – we have so many to catch up on so watched about 4 episodes back to back πŸ™‚

Poppy slept, I watched Countdown with Skye and amazed myself at getting both the numbers round correct! πŸ˜€ They were fairly simple and maths isn’t my strong point but I was pleased with myself πŸ™‚

All had an early night, hoping for a better tomorrow πŸ™‚

Thursday, Poppy still not great but better πŸ™‚ I didn’t go into work today, felt the need to be at home with my poorly girls. Had another fairly lazy day. We snuggled up on the sofa and I read the whole of Michael Morpurgo’s Kensuke’s Kingdom – we’ve had the book for about 4 years but never read it. We all absolutely loved it, such a fantastic moving story. So, that was 2 1/2 hrs gone by….had a very light lunch then both girls did a bit of fairly straightforward work from a GCSE Maths Revision Book.

We have a 4-legged-lodger for the next two and a bit weeks, our friends dog Star has come on holiday to us. Was a bit worried about how the cats would react to her and her to them but everything seems to be ok. There’s quite a bit of food sharing going on!

By late afternoon Poppy seemed much brighter so we took Star out for a little walk for some fresh air.

Whilst I prepared something for tea, the girls spent an hour or so cutting out pictures from magazines my Mum had donated and made some collages.

Wayne arrived home, had tea, snuggled on sofa before sending them off early to bed so they could have some ds time πŸ™‚

Friday I went to work to hand in my notice – I’ve was approached by a previous employer who I worked for 11 years ago for 10 years – they offered me an admin job, same days, less hours, bit more money and biking distance from my house – if I am prepared to negotiate a rather steep hill – we’ll see. Will be great coming home though………..
WHHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!! (did think of you Michelle – would have been perfect for you!).

Wayne had a lovely day with the girls. They went into town to withdraw some money to pay for their own netbook, both have enough birthday money saved and would rather them spend it on something worthwhile rather than waste it all on tat! Just need to find them both one – Ebay here we come πŸ™‚ Also visited the library and managed to reduce the fines by half – 3 weeks is just never enough time really – not for the amount of books we take out πŸ™‚ I know you can renew online them but always forget! Rented a DVD – Where The Wild Things Are – for when Maddy comes for a sleep over this weekend.

My Auntie had dropped of a huge bag of veg from their allotment and was surprised to find Wayne busy preparing it for tea when I arrived home πŸ™‚

The girls and I played Brain Box History which Poppy won! Then Poppy and I had a game of Rummikub whilst Skye and Wayne hunted on eBay for a netbook. Not looking for a new one but ideally refurbished with some warranty. Think they may have found some but will continue the search over the weekend.

Leave a Reply

