Catching up again

What an odd mix of weather we have had over the past few weeks πŸ™‚

Amongst the ‘normals’ we made the most of having some sunshine so lots of walks, even took out water colours with us and sat for about an hour at the top of our only hill in the village sketching, painting and chatting πŸ™‚

Skye has made herself a gorgeous top, from a pattern with some advice and guidance by Nana. It is fab and she is very proud of herself πŸ™‚

Home made by SkyeBlu :)

There has been lots of sewing and crafting recently and over the last few weeks the amount of sock creatures has multiplied πŸ™‚

Skye's sock monster

sock pig

gaggle of sock monsters

IMAG1285

IMAG1284

The girls did photography at Arts Award on Friday, they had a fab time πŸ™‚ This has definitely been their favourite session so far. They took photos of each other using props such as hats and fabric. The tutor was really pleased with their results and has asked them to print some onto A4 to display in the corridor πŸ™‚ The previous week they did some Acrylics onto Perspex which looked very effective πŸ™‚ I need to get them to get their Arts Award written work done so they can get their Bronze Award signed off and move onto Silver.

Skye is seriously considering a career in photography. I tried to organise Skye to spend some time with a Photographer friend I know but unfortunately due to health and safety/insurance, it’s not possible. I think she saw it as asking for a work experience placement so might see if I can have a chat with her rather than over email. Looking at putting myself and Skye onto a photographic course at college in September as I love taking photos and would really like to know how to get the best out of my lovely new camera πŸ™‚

I am sure both Skye and Poppy will venture into something creative. They are much happier sketching, sewing, baking, photographing or modelling something than writing, although Skye does love her poetry and writes some fantastic pieces πŸ™‚

Merry has been working on poetry on our WedEd meets and Skye is really enjoying completing the ‘homework’. Their latest being to finish their sonnet. 14 lines with an abba abba cdcdcd rhyming scheme and 10 syllables per line on romantic (nature and emotions) theme with at least one example of personification πŸ™‚ This was Skye’s

The Start of Spring

The sun gleams brightly on the wet green grass
I walk and feel the dampness on my toes
The smell of flowers fills up my nose
I keep on walking with no map or compass
I come to a stream as clear as glass
The cool water meanders as it flows
I watch rabbits hop into their burrows
I carry on walking and as I pass
I spot large stag run into the woods
I follow him to see where he’s going
All the trees look like they’re wearing green hoods
The spring daffodils have started growing
I can see the stag in the misty woods
Silently I watch, without him knowing.

Love her illustration too πŸ™‚

Skye's sonnet

Poppy is still loving crocheting and has bought herself some more wool. She really is much better at it than me and has also taught her Nana to crochet flowers πŸ™‚ We sat for about 3 hours the other night sorting out the wool basket as it was overflowing and very tangled!

IMAG1196 IMAG1192

We took the girls and Skye’s friend A to watch The Hunger Games at the cinema. The film was brilliant πŸ™‚ though spoiled a bit by a group of girls sitting a few seats away from us chatting, giggling and taking photos of each other throughout the film, one even sat with her back to the screen!! 😦

Since seeing the film, I have ready the first two books and well on my way through the final book πŸ™‚ Poppy has started on the first book πŸ™‚ Skye has read a spin-off from the Twilight books and also has a stack of Vampire Academy books to read but can’t start them yet as she hasn’t got the first one 😦

Going through all my photos, I can see so many other things I should have blogged about so will probably do some photo blogging instead πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

