Lapbooking

Or our version of it, not quite the lapbooking style I so often stumble upon when googling for ideas but we are happy with it and it works for us πŸ™‚ Merry suggested we take a look at lapbooking when we first started home educating as she thought it would suit our girls, knowing they had a creative side, and three years down the line they still love it πŸ™‚

This style of learning really suits our two, they are both creative, love art and craft and would probably doodle and sketch all day and somedays they do πŸ˜‰

Skye, whilst researching something or other, stumbled upon an Einstein quote that she liked and was so inspired she decided to create a lapbook on the man himself πŸ™‚ I love her sketch

Einstein lapbook

This week she has been working on the Industrial Revolution and is really enjoying researching, reading and sketching πŸ™‚ This is currently a work in progress.

Industrial Revolution lapbook

Following our recent bat walk, hearing the owls, Poppy has chosen to do a lapbook on Barn Owls. Lapbooking is really good for Poppy as she is not keen on writing pages and pages of information but will happily put together smaller bits of written work together to create a book full of interesting facts and sketches.

Barn Owl lapbookbarn owl lapbook

The thing i like about them is it keeps them busy for hours, there is no limit to what they can put into them and the best bit is they can easily be filed away πŸ™‚

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 06:18:39

    Hi, just found you via the blogring. We love lapbooks and have done quite a few since we started out. Your children are very talented.

    Reply

  2. liveotherwise
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 22:22:24

    What a fabulous sketch! I’ve often wished I could get Big into lapbooking, I thought it would suit her down to the ground, but I think she finds it slightly intimidating somehow. Wonder if we could get together some time and your girls could inspire her.

    Reply

  3. aliportico
    Oct 06, 2012 @ 19:39:25

    I did a couple of lapbooks with mine years ago, but not since, but I was saying to a friend this week that I thought Buttercup would really enjoy making some again. Will show her your girls’ for inspiration πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. Frogmum (TenMinutesFromHome)
    Oct 09, 2012 @ 22:31:26

    These are briliant! Lapbooking is something I love and some of my children share a love of ~ others not so. We’ve usually used bought templates, but I love that your girls are creative enough to invent their own πŸ˜€ Taz is trying his hand at making his own at the moment for ‘Music History’ ~ starting out with Vivaldi. I’ve had to throw a few questions at him to get him going, but I think he’s doing OK. I’ll wait to see the finished product. He’s also doing one on Islam. My boys are studying The Industrial Revolution too (I wonder if they’ve been talking…), but have decided to just note-book about that. I leave it to them to decide HOW they present their studies these days ~ I think it’s important they really discover what works for them. Bugs is arty, but HATES lapbooking. Taz is not arty but seems to appreciate the format as a way of presenting and ‘revising’ information easily. Maybe your girls could bring their books up with them when you visit? ~ I’m sure they would inspire my girls too πŸ˜€

    Reply

  5. Frogmum (TMFH)
    Oct 09, 2012 @ 22:49:11

    sorry for my comment linking to my photography website ~ this one shouldn’t!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

